There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, finding a place to live has become such a challenge. There are some people who believe that the scarcity of habitations can only be solved by our political leaders while others disagree. I tend to agree with the former point of view and I will support this idea in my essay. There is no doubt that the world's population has grown exponentially. As a consequence, it is increasingly difficult to accommodate this number of people in city spaces. The reason for this is that never had this demographic explosion been thought of when these territories were planned. For instance, many buildings had to be refurbished to allocate a larger quantity of cars due to the struggle that some family kids go through when they try to find their own houses. As a result, they continue to live with their parents in a place that was not designed for such a number of individuals. To solve this problem, some people argue that it is an issue caused by the families themselves. Had they not given birth to too many kids, they would not be facing this adversity. However, it is complicated to blame personal decisions when there are much more elements involved. Recently, modernity has allowed people to live more. At the same time that the parents and grandparents are achieving a desired longevity, their children are becoming adults. That makes up to 3 or 4 generations to coexist, which increases the necessity of houses for all these groups. Had the government thought about this before, certainly we would be in a much better scenario. To illustrate this point, it is interesting to see how had the most advanced civilizations a plan to either control the fertility rate and to build their future generation’s residences. I strongly believe that we should consider choosing our next leaders based on how they are planning to deal with the availability of homes for our future citizens. In conclusion, even though our own decisions have an impact on society, the major control is played by the government and only they can solve the housing shortage issue.