n many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The cost of public healthcare has grown due to a quick increase in elderly people in many different cultures. Some people believe that the future cost of it should be paid by the citizens instead of the governments. This essay agrees that the population should be paid for the future treatments so the many spent on them before would be used on younger generations care. Firstly, the fact that the population is ageing is a good sign of the improvements made in the caring system and a change in the lifestyle so people don’t die at younger ages as in the old times. However, this has created a misbalance on the cost of public healthcare and left many young generations without the possibility to get important treatments they need. For instance, in China the governments announced in 2010 that many cancer treatments will no longer be a public service due to an over cost generated by the elderlies. Secondly, some societies are overpopulated and it would be impossible for the governments both to pay for a range amount of services and to pay for every age group. For this reason, nations should make a research to see after which age the cost of healthcare increases and so they can make them pay the 75% of the cost of the used services in the future times. As a result, the money would be spent in younger generations important treatments. In my opinion, although I think it’s unfair to make people pay for their own treatments I believe it is the best option to keep the sustainability of the care system besides of to keep the population away of dying soon. To conclude, the nations should make policies so the aged groups pay for the 75% of the services as this will help to maintain sustainable healthcare apart from not leaving people to ie at younger ages.