As well as making money, businesses also have a responsibility towards society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is important to consider the freedom that humanity has achieved. While some people believe that companies and entrepreneurs are accountable for the social impacts caused by their actions, others will argue that only profit matters. I tend to agree with the former statement and I will support my view in this essay. In recent years, the world has been through a deep modification in how the economy works. In the middle ages the society was static, which means that money exchanges would not have any influence on its layers. Even if a person could accumulate a large amount of money, never would they ascend in social status because it was already defined since one’s birth. After this, the bourgeois revolution changed this paradigm which allowed people to invest their money freely and ascend in the social pyramid. For this reason, some people advocate that the market should be regulated by itself and should not be controlled by the law or government. They call it “ laissez faire, laissez passer”, a quote from Turgot that means “let do, let pass”. However, if it had not been controlled by some rules, it would have increased the social disparities in an alarmant alarmed way. Actually, in 1929 the Great Crash occurred. After the Roaring Twenties, the decade after World War I when people and companies intensely speculated without any rules, the market collapsed. As a consequence, the nation that is the symbol of liberty hardly had learned that it is paramount that businesses must occur under at least a partial regulation and its outcomes have a huge social influence. Had this tragedy never happened, likely making business without responsibility would never have been questioned. To sum up, even though people should be free to decide how they are going to invest their money, the accountability of their acts should be considered. Either by law and ethics.