It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the Internet. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is not necessary to travel to other places to learn about the culture of other people, we can learn just as much from books, films and the internet. I strongly disagree with this statement for several reasons. Firstly, In recent years the internet is developing more and more and is becoming more accessible for everyone. As a result,more and more people have access to online films, books and could search for information with the help of the internet. For this reason, people nowadays believe that it's possible to learn another civilization just by this means without needing to visit a place. In my opinion, an excursion is the only way to really understand and learn another culture. To cite an example, when I travelled in Amsterdam I visited the "laakkwartier" that from the net was described as the worst area in Amsterdam, although, I discovered that is one of the nicest areas of the city. Secondly, travel and visit a place is the better way to connect with locals and know deeper about their society. When people travel, and they are in the same place as locals, they could experience the same situations such as climate and events that could help to understand the other culture. A good example could be when I met a tribù of fishermen and I lived with them for a whole week. They taught me a lot of fishing techniques and farming methods, thus, it was easier to understand their heritage and also their language was easier to understand. To conclude, the network, books and films could be an excellent way to know more about another population, but if people won't really understand and comprehend different cultures they must trip and visit those places.