Some people think that lawbreakers should be sent to prison. However, others think that better talents among those should be made to work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When talents break the law, whether to send them to the prison or make them work remains a contention. In my opinion, although imprisoning is beneficial to convicts and society, we should use their abilities in the workforce. On the one hand, prisons will help educate them and ensure the safety of society. Prisons help rehabilitate prisoners because the guards will teach them the standard of upright conduct and life skills. With the knowledge, criminals will adapt more to society when they are released. What is more, it is also a deterrent for people who intend to commit a crime. For example, were there no imprisonment, some officials would have received bribes, threatening the economic safety of the society. On the other hand, that criminals with talents enter the workforce will promote breakthroughs and curb the lawless behavior. For example, a convict caught because of hacking into a police surveillance system must have expertise in internet security. Therefore, if the government arranges for him to study this area, he will contribute to the research. In addition, he will get a job opportunity, and his action will be under supervision. With income and surveillance, it is more unlikely for him to commit a crime again. In my perspective, I support the idea that lawbreakers with skills should participate in the work. In this way, their intellectual prowess will not be wasted. As for imprisonment, it can indeed give them lessons. However, jail terms may harden convicts against society as a result of the brutalizing treatment they receive.