Many people believe that individuals are responsible for their own happiness, while others think happiness is dependent on other external factors. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

Happiness varies for every individual. While some people think that responsibility of one's own joy lies with the individual itself, others argue that it is influenced by external reasons. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and argue in the favour of the former. Social status had become one of the vital factors in a person's life. This is because people consider themselves as a part of society when they adopt their norms and beliefs. As a result, they end up doing things they never liked and hence, sacrifice their contentment in the fear of getting socially isolated. For example, many students choose the wrong career path after their school; they do it either under peer-pressure or under the influence of their parents' ideology which is primarily governed by society's beliefs. As a consequence, more than 4000 suicide cases are reported every year because youngsters were not happy with their careers and could not deal with the pressure. On the other hand, one of the major reasons for finding success in life is jubilation. This is due to the fact that people succeed when they follow their passion and do something they have always loved to do. Therefore, they feel more content either in their jobs or education because they are moving ahead with their choices. For example, Sachin Tendulkar, one of the world's greatest cricketer, achieved greatness because cricket was his passion and he loved the sport. Supposedly, if his parents never allowed him to play cricket and pressurised him to become an engineer or a doctor instead, India would have never got one its Bharat Ratna. To conclude, although socialisation is important to make friends and avoid loneliness, this must be weighed against the fact that happiness is much more crucial to be successful. Personally, I feel that it is in the person's hands to stay happy rather than adopting social stigmas.