Some people think that spending large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities is a waste of money. They think that this money should be used to improve existing public transport. To what extent do you agree / disagree ?

Public concern regarding the construction of high-speed trains to connect towns is increasingly topical since some individuals argue that this project needs huge investments. In addition, this money should be allocated to enhance public transportation. To respond to this aforementioned issue, I will put my arguments below and believe that this mode of transportation has several positive developments due to improving economic conditions and decreasing the density of the capital city’s population. Firstly, operating fast trains to connect areas will develop economic conditions in the countries. The reason is that this project will attract some users staying in the suburbs to utilize this mode for commuting from their hometown to their business institution’s location. Therefore, it will raise more income from potential customers who transport for working on a daily basis. Taking Indonesia as one example, its Ministry of Transportation constructed Whoosh as a high-speed train which can carry almost 500 passengers. They can afford 15% more expensive than the ordinary trains because of their effectiveness and efficiency. After operating for five months, the government has experienced a dramatic increase in revenue in this project field at 23%. Secondly, new railway lines help the government to reduce the overpopulated condition in capital cities. This is because workers can move from their residences fast without wasting their time. Thus, they do not need to pay extra money for renting boarding houses or apartments. To sum up, the construction of this project has beneficial impacts on our countries, especially for rising income and decreasing crowded population in some cities.