In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some believe that newspapers and books in printed form will become obsolete as people will be able to read all that they desire, free of charge, on the internet. I totally disagree because there will always be people that will buy printed material because of the aesthetic appeal of it and due to its collectability. The main reason why I disagree is because there is some sort of aesthetic appeal to actually holding printed material in your hands when reading. There is always going to be people who will want to buy a novel or paper as they find it to be a more pleasurable experience than reading on an electronic gadget. For instance, many people find it easier to read words off a page instead of a screen. Another reason why I believe printed material will always be purchased is its popularity with collectors. We can often see bookcases full of books when we enter someone’s home as they are an artefact just like a painting on a wall. Moreover, there are organizations, such as libraries, that serve to collect books and newspapers as a form of public archives. In conclusion, I completely disagree that there will ever be a time when people no longer buy books or papers. This is because I believe there will always be people willing to buy printed material due to its physical appeal and there will always be people and organisations that want to collect books and papers. Given this situation, it seems that printed materials will always be available.