First impressions are important. Some people think that doing well in interviews is the key to securing a good job. To what extent do you agree?

Good first impression is believed to be one of the key factors in succeeding in a job interview. Of course there are a lot of aspects crucial to a successful interview, but I believe that a positive first impression is the most important one. For instance, a good CV is a crucial factor in getting into a job interview, but it only helps you that far. After you get your chance to speak with an interviewer, you are on your own. Your social skills, your charisma, the way you present your assets, are the things that your future employer takes in mind while in a job interview. Secondly, if you were lacking some skills useful to the job, you could present yourself in a way recompenseting recompensing your deficiencies. For example if the job requires you to take surveys from people, and yet you have never done that, presenting your social skills and ease with talking to people might resolve the problem. Although a good first impression is very important, it does not secure you a successful job interview. When applying for a job we must be capable of doing it. If we lack basic required skills, even the most attractive first impression we are able to make, will not guarantee us a job. Furthermore, first impressions are very subjective therefore we are not quite able to prepare ourselves for every possible outcome of a conversation. In conclusion, I believe that first impressions are extremely important, and are definitely a good way of securing yourself a job. Nevertheless they are just assets to our whole personal image, extremely important ones, but not quite absolute and not decisive when served on their own.