In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on television and in computer and video games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The crime rate has increased in many countries around the world. Some believe that aggressive contents of some programs like computer games and media are responsible for this issue. This essay will explain why I strongly agree with this view. In my opinion, video games play an important role in increasing violent behaviours. This because the main victims of these games are youngsters who not only spend their whole pleasure times on this but also are affected by them truly. For example, a retrospect study which was conducted in Australia has shown the increase rate of aggressive behaviours among students who used to play violent games. Indeed, youngsters try to copy the behaviour and manner of whatever they see and this effect on their behaviours is inevitable. On the other hand, television programs as the most attractive public entertainment, which have a huge number of audience, have far-reaching consequences on the mental health of societies as a whole. Breaking bad, for instance, was a famous and popular series which broadcasted through media in the USA in 2015, and after releasing the number of crime rate increased from 5% to 8%. Indeed, the fear of crime can be decreased by seeing them. There is no doubt that if we cannot control the contents of media as well as games the detrimental effects on the different age group of societies inevitable. In conclusion, the number of people who commit offences has increased globally. It is true that peoples’ behaviour and manner have influenced through whatever they watch. I personally believe that the impacts of media and video games as the main cause of rising criminal acts noticeable.