Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Numerous reasons can explain the widespread in youth drug use, which causes, as consequence, an undesired outcome for these youngsters' lives. The present essay aims to discuss the causes and effects of this issue and proposes two possible solutions. Firstly, to analyse the situation it is important to look at some reasons leading to the increase in stimulant consumption in the youth population. Undoubtedly one good start for many people is drinking an alcoholic beverage. Light drugs are present in family parties and other common situations in everyday life. Young people tend to search for ways to look more interesting to others and try to accomplish the goal by repeating adults actions. Considering that, they tend to keep this behaviour as adults. I know some people who treat narcotic utilization as a trend and talk about that feeling as if that makes them incredible people. However, the ways to fight this issue can be the most simple and accessible. Despite the numerous campaigns against narcotic consumption, this subject is in most cases seen as a tabu by parents and schools. It is important to promote clear conversations at home about the matter, otherwise, the road to young people to try some narcotics will be always open and attractive. In addition to parents attention, schools must be prepared to allow these conversations in classrooms too. Some of my friends talk openly about drugs with their parents and I see that there is a positive outcome because the sense of prohibition makes them think better about the consequences of their choices. In summary, we can consider that to avoid the spread of drug consumption we must promote information through education and open conversations inside the home. Parents and educators are important actors to face the issue. We must promote conscientization and avoid the banalization of alcohol for example. By contrast, just hiding some drugs and avoiding the topic will not be effective to combat this undesirable situation.