In order to solve traffic problems government should tax private cars owners heavily and use the money to improve public transport. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic congestion in many cities around the world is severe. It is commended that one tactic to this problem is to impose heavy taxes on car drivers and use wealth to make a public superior. I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the main advantage of increasing heavy duties on a private vehicle could bring down the rising level of traffic on highways. A primary benefit of such a measure is that the heavy taxes would discourage car owners from using their cars because it would become very expensive to drive. For example, many counties road taxes are charged from the general population at almost every highways in terms of toll. This policy can encourage to use of public transport among people and can further reduce traffic problems on road and pollution in the atmosphere. Another merit would be that the modes of public transport would improve in terms of the services if their usage of frequency would increase by commuters. For instance, it is often observed that public transport in cities is very poor. We often witness old buses and trains are not commonly used by the majority of the population due to their poor conditions. Thus, high taxes would generate enough money to make the necessary changes in them. However, the disadvantages of adopting this policy cannot be ignored. The major adverse effect would be a heavy burden on car drivers. To illustrate the fact, currently,there are many areas in which people have to pay heavy taxes to the government. Upon this, the weighty road taxes would create an imbalance in the family budget which would result into insufficient funds at the end of the month for people who further may have no choice but to drive every day. In addition, these sorts of taxes would likely be set at a fixed amount. This would create a problem for low-income earners, whereas wealthy people would likely to be able to afford it. It is therefore not a fair tax. To conclude, this solution is worth considering improving the current situation, but, before the practical implementation of such a policy,there should be a statistical analysis to examine its effects in the real world.