More and more people are working long hours leaving very little for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

There is an increasing amount of people who do not have time to spend for themselves because of longer work hours. This trend causes negative outcomes such as health and relationship issues. The most significant disadvantage of increasing working hours is health problems. In fact, the lack of entertainment after work will lead to fatigue. Moreover, the repetition of this lifestyle may cause serious health-related issues in the long run. For example, in Japan, there is a high rate of depression. Japanese often work more than 8 hours a day because they tend to stay overtime to finish their tasks as soon as possible. As a result, this country has the highest rate of suicide in the world. The personal relationship is also be affected by this habit. Since workers do not have time to spend for others, it will negatively impact their communication with family members or their love ones. For instance, researches show that busy people have a high rate of being single because they do not have time to develop a relationship. Furthermore, these workers often face depression so they may easily feel angry and may not be able to control their temper. Thus, these behaviours will draw their close ones far away from them and also make mental health issues more serious. To conclude, overworking will cause mental issues and destroy relationships with others. Both employers and employees need to be aware of the issue, thus effective planning and management should be implemented to avoid adding more hours to prevent long-term effects.