Some people believe that the experiences children have before they go to school will have the greatest effect on their future life. Others argue that experiences gained when they are teenagers have a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Many researchers claim that early childhood experiences are more formative that the later, teenage years. In my opinion, though this may be supported by studies, it makes more sense that adolescence shapes futures the most. Those who believe in the primacy of the pre-school years can point out the effect of early experiences on neurodevelopment. It has become a common refrain among psychologists that the majority of personality formation is in the first 2 years of life. This stems from the relationship children have with their parents, whether they are shown unconditional love and, conversely, if there is any neglect or abuse present in the household. As the child continues to mature and become aware of their surroundings, societal influences intrude and include gender stereotypes, early friendships, and imitation of one’s parents. By the time a child reaches kindergarten, most of their social and personal identity is, allegedly, fixed. Despite the valid arguments detailed above, I believe the teenage years are when individuals truly begin to navigate the demands of others against their own personal desires. The key life events that take place in the teenage years include an increase in academic pressure, more nuanced social relationships, increased responsibility at home, and, crucially, the biological changes of puberty. These are the foundation of finding one’s place in the world and managing wants against what is expected of an individual by friends, family, school, and society at large. Some teenagers find a balance early and excel while others struggle for long periods that may last into adulthood. On the whole, these experiences outweigh those accumulated as a young child. In conclusion, though the childhood years are developmentally important, nothing is a better predictor of the future than the issues that must be resolved as teenagers. It is therefore important that teenagers are given latitude to grow and express themselves.