Some people think everyone should be a vegetarian, because we do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public attitudes towards the eating of meat have shifted and some believe all of us should only eat a vegetable diet which is healthier. I agree with this to a large extent, but not in entirety. The idea of banning meat from consumption altogether would be a highly controversial move and it is difficult to see what long-term advantage would be gained from this There is evidence of a clear link between the over breeding of livestock and environmental decay, (example needed) and hence results in large areas of land being required to breed animals such as pigs, sheep and cattle. Obviously these creatures rely upon grass and other naturally grown produce. Therefore usage of arable pasture has a damaging impact on the environment, with the water cycle particularly affected as well as the obvious increase in carbon emissions due to the lack of carbon absorbing foliage. Nonetheless, millions of people across the world rely upon the consumption of meat to earn a living, from farmers to meat producers and restaurateurs Millions of jobs would be lost instantly if a universal ban on meat consumption was introduced. For example, one only need consider the impact on fast food vendors such as McDonald's and KFC: simply imagine the effects such huge job losses would incur should those chains go out of business. I believe that people should do more to address their own personal meat consumption rather than any overall cut. Meat eating does pose a threat to the environment so people should certainly try to eat less. Even so, this does not mean I support a wholesale ban on meat consumption.