In many parts of the world, people are choosing to have fewer children. Why do you think this is happening? What impacts may it have on society?

With the passage of time, people around the world had decided to have fewer kids. Some people consider that this is happening as people have to spend more time at work and have less time to be at home with their families. This essay will discuss this reason, as well as, the effects that this has on society. To begin with, some parents need to spend more time at work than at home, which has made them choose to have just one or two kids. A professor at The University of Sydney explains that when he interviewed parents, 75 per cent of them said that they choose to have fewer children as in this way they could spend more time each of them. This could indicate that increased work time and reduce home time is a major reason for having fewer children. Having fewer children has had positive and negative effects on society. In the positive side, it has helped to reduce global population. This is important as less population have a direct impact on the reduction of waste and global warming. However, in the negative aspects,it may result in having more older than the younger population. A city in Kansas is a clear example of this negative and positive effect since 1985 people decided to have just one or no children, this has resulted in a reduction of 50 percent of their waste production. However, now most of their population is over the age of 75 and there is not that many younger people to take care of them. In conclusion, it can be seen that over the world many people are opting for having fewer children. Some people consider that this is happening as parents have less available time to have bigger families. Although it has positive effects on society such as reducing global population, it also has negative effects as no having younger populations.