Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

A fraction of the population holds the notion that advertisement induces the purchasing habit of the people beyond their financial capability. Whereas the opponents propound that this promotional activity plays a vital role in making people aware of the products, thereby it improves the lifestyle of the population. This essay is in accordance with the first statement and would try to arrive at a rational conclusion. In this highly competitive world, survival is a matter for every business firm. So, they apply different tactics and techniques to succeed in the rat-race. In addition, with the intention to attract consumers, the company shows only the positive sides of their brand. It makes among the people a sense of necessity about their product rather than a luxury. It affects especially the people who struggle to meet their daily expenses to a great extent. Moreover, it is a new trend among the companies adding some offers or discounts as an advertisement caption. For instance, most jewellery promotes the instalment payment method, encouraging the population to buy gold or diamond over their needs. Furthermore, advertisements not only affect elderly people but the younger generation as well. It should not be overlooked. At present, arguably, every child possesses their smartphones. Besides, they often try to emulate brand ambassadors. When they fail to meet these requirements, they make them depressed or delinquents. Juvenile suicides and child psychologists are on the increase as an epitome of the aforementioned case. In short, nevertheless, although advertisement provides information regarding the product, such as its price, available brands, fashion, and so on, it forces the people to purchase things irrespective of their economic status. Ergo, I strongly believe that a marketing strategy like an advertisement has many harmful effects.