Some people think government should tax unhealthy food to encourage people to begin to eat more healthy foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many believe that unhealthy food products should be penalized by the state's legislators to promote healthy food. I do not agree with this tax, this essay will opine my opinion with relative illustrations. To begin with, placing heavy taxation on unhealthy food products will be unfair for many consumers. Many people genuinely prefer eating junk food and adding additional taxes on their choice of food will cost them more from their pocket. For example, a person who prefers certain brand meals will not suddenly quit having their food because of the increase price point but it might affect their food budget. Similarly, many people cannot afford to eat healthy food. For example, the cost of a salad is two dollars more than the price of a burger, so people with tight budget prefer to safe their money by not splugering spluttering on a salad. Therefore, if there is something a government should encourage their people to eat healthy food, they should subsidize the cost of healthier food options, so many people can afford them. On other hand, governments putting hefty taxes on junk food items may discourage consumers to switch to healthy alternatives, but I believe this should be a choice of a consumer to chose their products. Governments should not force them to switch to other alternatives by hiking up the prices. Although, they can start taxing the manufacturers instead. This might also result in companies coming up with their version of clean and less fattening food items. Lastly, governments should hosts campaigns to educate their citizens aboutthe benefits of healthy living and food choices. To conclude, the aforementioned reasons reinforce my views against the taxation of food products instead of investing in educating their people to change their lifestyle for sustainable results.