Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning a practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

Most of the academic and technical disciplines require the guidance of deep theoretical knowledge but also requires the developing of practical skills, for example, manual dexterity. While many believe that fact learning is the most important, other think practical skills are determinant. In my opinion practical skills are ultimately more relevant. On the one hand, it is undeniable that strong theoretical bases are fundamental in the learning curve of many disciplines. This is because is mandatory to know how to do something before trying it. A good example of this fact can be found in the medical field. If a doctor does not know the theoretical aspects of a disease or procedure, then it will be impossible to reach a diagnosis or perform an accurate treatment procedure. On the other hand, some jobs require the development of practical skills rather than just theoretical knowledge. Take for example a doctor who is considering following a surgical career. In that case is very important to gain achieve manual dexterity and to be able to perform procedures with minimal errors. In conclusion, the majority of jobs require both theoretical and practical skills. However, ultimately, in the "real world" having practical skills is more determinant to achieve good results. In my opinion, educational institutions should eager students in developing practical abilities.