Increase the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is no doubt that we now have more congested roads and cities due to the excessive amount of cars. Along with it, the high consumption of petrol has made the Earth's climate change, especially in terms of pollution. While some people argue that such problems can be solved by raising the fuel's commodities cost, I personally believe that this is not the only method that can be used. In this essay,I will discuss this statement and give some examples of what could be done instead. Its needless to say that change cannot be done in any society before making people understand the impact of their actions in the environment. We live in an ecosystem, and as can be expected, our behaviours have already begun to affect our surroundings. The high use of fuel in cars, trucks, aeroplanes and industrial factories, have made the hot weather soar as never seen before, and it will not go down without actions from all over the world. To illustrate such impact, there are recent events that can be mentioned, for instance, the forests that have been burning for days in California and Amazon. This not only led to a huge loss in their vegetation and wildlife, but also, by consequence, have increased the pollution in areas nearby. One of the methods that defenders of a green planet have been promoting, is not only increasing the prices of natural gas, but asking for governments to raise the awareness that this consumerist society we live in will not see a bright future without taking actions right now. It is said, for example, that people could stop buying cars or using electric ones, or perhaps politicians could improve their means of transportation so people could stop wanting and needing to buy a vehicle, or even services like Uber could lead this cause and start to using hybrid cars, which do not use gasoline as fuel. In conclusion, I agree that gas's price could be raised, but by doing this, governments should think about other solutions to put in its place. We cannot forget that trucks, aeroplanes and other types of services depend on this. However, it is time to create new technologies and habits, or humankind and our habitat will suffer the consequences in the near future.