Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The division of governmental funds affects the way on how different parts of society work. For some people, the government should support cultural departments such as music and theatre. However, this essay will argue that financial resources should go to services in the public sector. Governmental funds should go to the public sector, as it will support and benefit hospitals and schools. This is important as many people use these services and if those have more money they would be able to provide better services and care for more people. For instance, last year the director of the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital said that with the 1.5 million dollars that the government gave to the cultural sector, they could have opened a program to promote vaccination on remote areas of Australia. With this in mind, if the public sector has more financial resources, they could help more people, which would improve people’s overall quality of life. Despite the fact that public services could use the extra money to improve people’s health, there are some that still consider that the cultural sector should receive governmental financial aids. Even though museums and stadiums need money to be able to open their doors to people, there are various private corporations that support them financially. For example, the manager of the Powerhouse Museum said that in the last five years, they have found over ten private sponsors to pay for what they need. Consequently, it can be said that there are corporations that are willing to support and give funds to the arts, the reason why the government should spend that money in hospitals and schools. In conclusion, governmental financial funds should be divided carefully and having into the account who need them the most. Despite the fact that the arts need money to operate, they can find private sponsors to support them, and their designated money should go into the public sector to improve hospitals and schools.