Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Medical advancements have reduced fatalities in newborns by the invention of vaccinations. The government should make it compulsory to immunise all the children at the early stage for their good health. Although others think they should be given the liberty to decide whether to vaccinate their babies or not. Firstly, it is the duty of the government for the welfare of their citizens, to reflect that, they should make a law to vaccinate all the infants of all the deadly viruses which hamper their healthy growth. One such fine example is of Dr. Jonas Salk who invented polio vaccination and saved countless lives of children and the union of India is conducting free campaigns for polio vaccinations, as a result of which, severe polio cases has been reduced to 2 or 3 cases in the whole country, which is a great achievement. Another example is of Shri Lankan state where they provide free vaccinations for polio, measles, and whooping cough and have saved millions of lives. On the other hand, some dislike the idea of compulsory vaccinations. One such reason for their behaviour would be, because of the presence of foreign bodies injected in their babies. According to the survey by the Medical Association of India, there has been only a 0.001% incident where a child has died because of the side effects of vaccination. This idea is flawed, as the benefits of cure outweigh far more than its side effects which might happen. In a study carried on HPV vaccination in young girls in Zimbabwe which was started in 2010, in the reports it was shown that only 0.001% of the girls were experiencing side effects as compared to 1 in every 10 adult girls who were suffering from cervical cancer. This shows that the benefits of HPV vaccinations outweigh the possibilities of side effects in women. In conclusion, the ministry should compel its people to vaccinate their infants of fatal diseases rather than giving their parents the right to conduct immunisation which would hamper the poor child's life because of a poor decision.