In many cities the construction of new houses and office buildings is not controlled. This leads to people building in whatever style they want without thinking about design. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The lack of control for the building of new structures leads to society randomly build their houses without thinking about the design of the exterior. Although the population can create the plan of their own buildings on one’s pat, it is considered by eminent architects such as Frank Gery that this trend negatively affects the general picture of cities, making them unattractive. On one hand, uncontrolled construction is one benefit for people planning buildings according to their taste and this also allow them to use multicolored paints and various building materials. As the result of this, the visitors of the towns can observe chaotically stylized streets with such houses. For example, being in Colombo Sri-Lanka, tourists see many streets having the houses without similar styles, creating among the palms, to put it mildly, a strange picture. On the other hand, not styled buildings on the streets of cities negatively affect visitors. In other words, this forms a messy appearance of the city, reducing its level of prestige and attractiveness. According to an article of the architect Frank Gery, thinking about journeys or business, people unlikely to decide to go to graceless cities, because this might affect people’s moods negatively. For example, one of the famous programmer John Wee wanted to invite the prestigious programmers to work together in Grodno Belarus, but due to the unattractiveness of the city they refused the offer. To conclude, the ability to build houses out of control can lead to an unattractive district or city.