Many famous sports players advertise products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether sports stars should connect their images to certain goods. This essay will discuss some benefits relating to this and also demonstrate some drawbacks that this attitude could lead. The main benefit reached when sportsmen are hired to represent some brands is because they help companies to raise their profits. Currently, sports stars have a sized number of fans around the world; therefore, their image increases sales due to the fact that these fans will purchase these goods. For example, in the nineties, Michael Jordan had launched the Air Jordan sneakers and in that same year, Nike had increased its profits by seventy per cent. In addition, celebrities sports tend to leverage brand trust. Most people believe that their idols would never borrow their names to a product that is not trustful which means that item is reliable. On the other hand, this enterprise is also used to deceive people. There are some brands that do not have a good product which lead them to look for a famous person in the market in order to show certain credibility which is generally a sports celebrity; thus, sometimes consumers can end up purchasing products that have no quality, thereby, wasting their money. To illustrate, food companies usually use celebrities from sports in order to entice consumers to buy their cereals, however, that product is not healthy as some researches had shown in the last years. This type of business also leads companies to lose their trust in the market. It is believed that consumers who felt deceived with a product are prone to never buy any product manufactured from that brand again, which makes companies lose their market share. In conclusion, to hire a sports celebrity can bring about some benefits such as a rise in profits or credibility. Although, it can also come about issues such as deceiving consumers or even hide the low quality of a product.