Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. What do you think this means? Do you agree with this statement?

There is a proverb, saying 'beauty is in the eyes of the beholder'. This means that the views people have on how beautiful an object is not the same and I completely agree with this statement. To begin with, the old saying indicates that the standard of aesthetics depends on individuals. It is not uncommon that people express different opinions while looking at the same artistic item. For example, Mona Lisa is a famous painting and many beholders of it confess how enigmatic her smile is. However, there are still quite a large number of those who do not understand why she is well known worldwide. On the contrary, some strange, rather bizarre sculptures and drawings, for instance, can be inspiring to some. The best example of this would be abstract paintings. Granted that art is hardwired for all humans and the feeling towards something beautiful must be very similar, but I believe that the definition of beauty is different from person to person. This is because everyone has a different educational background and life experiences, which usually affect their perspectives. Taking myself as an example, I spent most of my childhood in the countryside and overseas countries where their nature is well preserved. As a result, I think I am fed up with natural scenery, no matter how magnificent it is. However, multiple numbers of people who visited Australia told me that the natural environment of the country is overwhelming, in which my family lives and I stayed for almost 2 years, and I absolutely feel the other way round. In conclusion, nobody has the same opinion about levels of beauty and I think it is due to the education and experiences people gain throughout their life.