Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An extremely significant topic today is related to environmental issues, such as global warming and air pollution. Even though those affect the lives of all living creatures, a large part of the world's population does not pay attention to the negative consequences. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on this topic and show why some people neglect it. To begin with, problems in the environment do not directly impact the population's lifestyle. For instance, a country cares about improving the infrastructure and building skyscrapers, but concerns regarding global warming are neglected. This happens because global warming is a gradual process and does not have a direct negative consequence on people’s lives. Therefore, people will be interested in ecological concerns only if they have a direct connection with them. Secondly, more than half the world's population take no action to take care of their surroundings because they are largely cut off from it. A recently conducted demographics research shows that there is an ongoing trend for the residents of small towns and villages to go to the big city. This process is called suburbanisation and it is separating humans from nature. For example, an individual who lives in the capital city spends less time outside, compared to a person from the village. Residents of major cities have a hectic life. As a result, they have a few daily reminders of the need to protect the Earth. To summarise, I firmly believe it is not surprising that people fail to act in favour of ecological issues. After all, they have isolated themselves from the environment and do not pay attention to the rising concern of some major problems. If this continues, future generations will eventually face a crisis which can alter the way they live.