The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools,where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills.

In recent years, the study of IT has become a standard part of the school programme in most secondary schools, and now in primary schools too. However, there is a growing concern that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. I disagree with this view and believe that learning IT will not affect progress in other important subjects. To begin with, school programmes are carefully designed to provide pupils with enough time to study all subjects effectively. As a result, children can learn IT while taking up basic skills such as reading, writing and maths. A well-designed programme allows for a balanced education. In addition, information technology is becoming increasingly important and is used in almost all areas, from the workplace to everyday life. Even the elementary use of a computer at home needs some skills that many people lack today. Therefore, computer science lessons are needed to give students the necessary basic knowledge, and as a separate subject it requires special time for effective teaching. On the other hand, information technology is a complex subject that requires a solid knowledge base. Introducing it too early, for example in primary school, may not be effective and may damage the learning of basic skills. Young children still may not have the cognitive abilities required to pick up advanced IT skills concepts, which can lead to imbalance in their education. In conclusion, a well-structured curriculum can provide enough time for both IT and essential subjects. In today's world, computer skills are important as the ability to read and count. Therefore, the study should be supported and appropriate integrate into the school programme.