Traffic congestion is a serious problem in most big cities. Some people believe that governments should build more roads. What do you think about the solution?

With the growing cities in developing countries, population growth has risen. The increase in population has led to an increase in the complexity of the challenges. Traffic congestion is one of the inevitable consequences of this. Although constructing more roads seem to be a viable solution to address the challenge, certain other aspects should be pondered as well. To begin with, it is undeniable that, developing transportation infrastructure is essential with the increase in population. Today, narrow roads have become major roadblocks, and commuting has become more stressful. For instance, as per the BBC survey, real-estate is trending more and 60% of the investors are more likely towards buying houses in outskirts though it is distant to their city-life just to get rid of street congestion in the city. Thus, it is evident that if road-widening helps to attract dwellers, thereby economically beneficial to the nation. As an opposite perspective, there is a significant factor to consider. As part of the expansion, a land acquisition would most likely take place. This means residents have to vacate their properties. Though they get compensated for this, they have to leave their places where they raised their children. For the residents, it is just not the building; it is their home of memories. For example, in the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh, as part of constructing new capital, 30,000 acres of land has been acquired from city dwellers, for which there was a protest for their loss of land. Hence, this has to be addressed by properly reimbursing them. All angles considered, I believe that progress sometimes has a high price tag to pay. For this reason, I think that the need to build new roads has to be justified enough to make it worth for those who would have left their homes for the greater good.