Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Nowadays we are exposed to a lot of advertisements, which means that we cannot help seeing advertisements even if we do not want to see those, and most of them are nothing but unavoidable things to us. In many cases, a lot of advertisements rather backfire on the public. For example, when people are trying to get free news on the internet, we have to see advertisements involuntarily, and these advertisements are not persuasive but annoying and time-consuming. Thus, this advertisement cannot achieve the goal of companies. On the other hand, I agree with the opinion that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to purchase things. The main reason is that people still acquire information from advertisements. From mobile phone in people’s hands to a huge screen on buildings, a lot of advertisements are giving people information related to products or services provided by companies. Thus, many people get information which is needed in buying something without any effort. Even if people exclude this information and try to get new information in order to purchase what the people want to buy, they meet just other kinds of advertisements again and then depend on them. This shows that people cannot be free from advertisements. In other words, advertising is an effective way to make people buy what companies intend by advertising. Even though people tend not to heed advertisements due to the huge number of it, people cannot help depend on advertisements.