Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Sports is a generic activity which is highly appreciated globally despite many known and unknown cultural or regional differences. Hence, Sporting events are conducted nationally and internationally to promote unity and patriotism among the citizens. I affirmatively reckon this as a great step to release some tensions in a peaceful yet competitive manner. In this essay, we will discuss the same in detail with some reference supporting the argument. First and foremost, the games with gigantic followerships such as cricket always draw people's attention. The Governing Board of this sport which goes by the name, International Cricket Council organises the Cricket Worldcup, a recurring sports event held after a span of 4 years in different countries. Instances like these not only boost tourism but also enhances inter-cultural relations since they are treated no less than a festival. For example, Russia hosted the football WorldCup, which is another most liked game, wherein folks from all over the world gathered together enjoying the festive spirits and parallelly understanding the lifestyle of the host region alongside. Through this, ideological and political tensions tend to get overshadowed by the zeal of the sport. On the other hand, some nations while losing tend to put the blame on one another thereby causing a spike in pre-existing conflicts. For instance, a cricket match between India and Pakistan work otherwise, as the two nations suffer from an overflow of tensions across the stadium every time. And sometimes, after the match, the two rivals bully each other, while the audience let their patriotic emotions explode in an aggressive way. Actions like these always have a lasting negative influence on the respective communities and can create differences in a drastic manner. To conclude, I would like to emphasize on the fact that sports always intend to bring people together and flush their tensions in a better style. Sports is certainly a favourable way to ease such tensions however, it is not the fundamental way. As a viewer, it is our sole responsibility to support and promote our home teams but, also we should refrain from indulging in it so badly that we end up hurting others.