Some people think that family is more important than friends. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is an opinion that family ties have greater importance than friendship. I partly agree with this idea because as a rule, the family will always support a person in the face of despair, while it is extremely difficult nowadays to find a friend who would stay with you no matter what. From my point of view, modern society is individualistic and in comparison with the past, long-lasting relationships between people who are not a family are significantly rare. It has become a new norm to use a person for some personal reason and benefits and then leave them without giving anything back. Meanwhile, true and honest friendship is always a two- way lane. For illustrate, even in a romantic relationship, modern people can be involved in sex-only connection without commitment and any obligations. Thus, it is not surprising that if a person has to choose between family interests and friends, it is more important to pursue the family needs. However, in some cases, an individual might have a toxic family environment, when the bond between members of a family might become an anchor that did not let the person thrive and grow. In this case, it would be better to break down family ties and look for like-minded persons among friends or acquaintances. Luckily, modern reality has brought us in the space of infinite exchange of ideas and information and it is quite feasible to find a group, which will share someone’s ideas and interests. In conclusion, I somehow agree that family bonds are more important than friends. Although, in some situations, especially in case of abusive or toxic relationships it is much more crucial for surviving to cut down all family connections and try to find support among compatible people.