Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that educational institutions focus more on teaching factual information to the students, rather than incorporating functional skills. I entirely agree with this view, and various amendments have to be introduced to enhance the standards of the schooling system. On the one hand, there are clear arguments that prove theoretical instruction is predominant in the educational sector. In the first place, most of the learning establishments fundamentally follow a pedagogy based on the facts and theories. In other words, the scope for the practical implementation of various skills that have been taught is very limited, because textbooks that are used for it primarily contains a detailed conceptual explanation, rather than a practical approach. In addition, examinations conducted in schools don't test pragmatic abilities, while they are introduced to students only in university education. For example, research done on Indian education system revealed that 95% of the students never faced a realistic test until their graduation. On the other hand, I agree with the viewpoint that many institutions lack sufficient infrastructure to offer functional instructions to the students. Firstly, they don't possess a wide range of equipment and facilities such as laboratories, workshops and manufacturing units, and as a result,learners graduate without any first-hand experience. Secondly, I also feel that they are short of efficient tutors with a pragmatic thought process. For instance, schools in rural areas of Thailand do not have access to basic classrooms, and unless governments provide financial aid, these cannot be upgraded. On the whole, a similar situation is observed in several developing countries, and they all remain to continue teaching hypothetical methodologies. In conclusion, it certainly seems to me that, tutors focus on teaching facts at every level of education taught in schools, colleges and universities, and tend to ignore the practical learning.