We are becoming increasingly dependent on computer–based technology. How do you think it will change in the future? Is it good for us to rely so much on computers?

An extremely important topic today is related to our dependency on computers and other technologies. Even though computers are relatively new inventions, they have become an indispensable part of our lifestyles. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on the prospects of technology and reliance on it. To begin with, in my opinion, technologies have a promising future. Even though modern people are becoming more dependent on devices, such as computers and smartphones, there are also some benefits. New machines are constructed to facilitate the workflow. For instance, a recent breakthrough in the medical field was made. A doctor performed a remote- control surgery over a 5-G network with the help of robotic arms. This example shows us that we rely on certain machines that couldn’t be possible without the fast pace development of technologies. Apparently, in the future, there will be more devices in our working environment and we should learn how to work with them. On the other hand, it is not acceptable to rely on computers all the time. Computers can link us to the Internet and thus provide us with information and knowledge, which can sometimes be unreliable and biased. Furthermore, recently conducted research shows that they can cause us “digital dementia”. “Digital dementia” is a term used to define our disability to remember information, which we could do if we do not overuse our modern devices. For example, the overuse of the World Wide Web makes us too dependable and we are less likely to think logically. This is because the information is readily/already provided and we take it for granted. By doing this, we decrease our memory and concentration abilities. To summarise, I firmly believe that although computers give us numerous benefits, future revolutions will certainly exceed our expectations. However, even if those prospects are extremely appealing to us, we should remain responsible and never use them too much.