In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

In the world where scientific and technological advances dominate, people working in the field of arts such as musicians, painters and writers still gain a great deal of attention. This is because arts can teach us certain things about life that we cannot learn from science and technology. Firstly, arts give us the opportunity to see things from a different perspective. In the world of science and technology, we see things as the way they are; yet, in the world of arts, we are allowed to use our imagination and creativity to see things in the way we want. In a researcher’s eyes, for example, a cat is just an animal with soft fur and four legs; however, a cat, to a writer, could be a friend, a hero or a traditional symbol of a culture. This way of seeing things helps us to gain deeper insights into the world we live in and teaches us to think from different perspectives when encountering problems. Another point about the benefits of arts is that while scientific and technological developments bring benefits to our physical lives, arts instill religious and spiritual values into each individual, which helps us to become a more well-rounded person. For instance, whenever I felt down and depressed, I often listen to the song called You raise me up which always gives me the feeling that I can do anything that I have a passion for as long as I put my heart into it. I think we hardly ever have this feeling when we carry out a scientific research or a technological project. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that in the world of arts we can learn various things that are absent from the world of science and technology.