Many children are spending more and more time plating with electronic games and less time with other toys. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

Electronic games have become increasingly popular among children in recent years. I believe that the reason why this is the case is the fact that computer games have become more immersive and more appealing to children. In my opinion, however, shifting from traditional games and toys to electronic ones is a negative tendency for two reasons. The main reason children spend more time gaming is modern technology. Advancements in technologies have allowed the developers of computer and video games to offer an unprecedented experience for their users. Today, it is not 8-bit games from the 90s, but whole worlds with high-level graphics and detailed history. Fascinated by the plot of a game, children can spend hours and hours playing it. An interesting story combined with an immersive experience encourages children to spend more time playing than ever before. Although electronic games can be more interesting to children, I believe their popularity is negative for society. Firstly, these games cannot compete with traditional ones in terms of developing cognitive and social skills. It is a known fact that a child's cognitive development depends on interaction with real objects. According to Montessori’s behavioural methodology, which has proved its effectiveness, sensorial activities play a significant role in a child's development as a person. Unfortunately, this kind of interaction is impossible in a virtual world. Another thing that electronic games lack is person-to-person communication. Admittedly, while some communicative skills can be developed through online communication, it is not guaranteed that these skills can be applied offline. As a result, children who do not have experience of real communication could have problems later in life. To sum up, children are spending more time playing electronic games because these games have become more technically advanced. However, they are less effective in terms of children’s cognitive and social development than traditional ones. Therefore, I believe that this is a negative development.