The average age for individuals to give birth is increasing. Some people think that it will have negative impact on family and country. What is your opinion about this?

These days, people are opting to have children at older ages as compared to the past. There are various reasons for this trend including younger people pursuing higher degrees and expensive behaviour. I have a vehement view that it is having detrimental effects on the families and the countries as well. The primary reason for people to have children later is that many people nowadays are struggling to get higher qualifications because of the harsh competition in the job market. Consequently, they are taking more time to settle and start their families. For example, in the USA, it has become crucial for almost everyone to get at least a Master’s degree in order to get employed in a well-reputed organization. Therefore, people are spending more time in universities to secure their future and families have become a second priority that is actual assets for us. Another reason for this problem is that people are preferring an expensive lifestyle. That is to say, owning a luxury car and branded items are demanding people to struggle for these things and individuals are focusing more to maintain such lifestyle. It has changed the social perspective that money can be saved to live a luxurious life by having babies later which is resulting in a sharp decline in population in many western countries. Canada, for instance, is facing a shortage of young workers to support their ageing population and to maintain economic stability. That is why they have started a number of immigration programs to attract people from overseas. In conclusion, obviously, the age of individuals to give birth is increasing on average. This issue is emanating by people to obtain higher education before starting their families and luxury lifestyle. I strongly believe that it is having extremely adverse effects on families and many countries are facing population imbalances.