In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people were there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Government-sponsored old age homes are commonplace in England. The British government takes responsibility for its elderly population and makes sure that they are provided with all the basic facilities at the expense of the taxpayer. In my opinion, families of the old people living in these specialized homes must take care of all this living expenditure. The major reason behind this is that this extra expenditure would act as a motivation for the families to keep the older people at their own homes instead of old age centers. Secondly, the government-funded facilities are usually not comfortable and provide basic amenities only. Elderly people usually prefer spending living in their own homes where they have spent a major portion of their lives. Various families prefer to send their elderly to senior care homes due to the fact that these facilities are free of cost and paid for by the local or federal administration. For instance, a study conducted by Oxford University suggested that more than 67% of the occupants of these senior care facilities belong to a household that can afford to take care of them at their native places without stressing their family budgets. The researchers further inferred that more than 50% of these elderly inhabitants could get the opportunity to live and spend time with their families in their own homes if the government stops paying for this extra care. Therefore, the trend of misusing the system just because it is free could be minimized by making families pay for this care. A major proportion of these facilities for the elderly are not up to the mark when it comes to providing good amenities to occupants. Most of these old age homes have a very basic infrastructure that excludes free internet, personal television sets, or even a private bathroom in some cases. According to the same survey cited above, the researchers found out that more than 90% of the old age homes in the country either provided paid internet access or no internet at all to the occupants. I believe that if a family decides to utilize a senior care facility and move an elderly person to one of these homes, they would usually prefer to book a spot in a comfortable, if not luxurious, establishment. To sum up, there are two paramount reasons for the family taking up the expenditure of senior care homes. This includes demotivating them to unnecessarily use these facilities when they can afford to take care of their elderly by themselves and providing them a comfortable lifestyle for the remainder of their lifespan. In my view, the ultimate decision of whether or not to move into an old age home must lie with the elderly people themselves and their families must bear all the expenses for this care.