It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is advisable that children should learn how to grow crops and to have pets at home. I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Rearing a child is like a double-edged sword so parents should know how to raise them well and instil appropriate behaviour.  One way of developing a sense of responsibility to a kid is giving them a task to accomplish. Also, this will show that parents trust them and are confident in them and children tend to do anything to protect this trust. Studies show that a youngster that has a pet at home is more likely to be outgoing and playful. They would take their pet outside for a walk or to play catch together with friends and oftentimes they would be proud of themselves because they can raise an animal and which they can call a friend at the same stage. Furthermore, if parents would teach their kids to plant vegetables and be able to harvest it on time would give them a sense of fulfilment. They would know the difficulties and the date it takes to produce a certain food. These would give them an idea of conserving resources and developing their patience for it takes time for a plant to grow. Also, having these kinds of activities will nurture a parent and child relationship. For these activities to be effective, adults should be around to protect and guide their children in keeping their domesticated friend as well as owning a farm. A juvenile is still a toddler and needed to be instructed properly. Especially when it comes to animals, sometimes if they are not tamed they can hurt the children and this will cause the traumatic experience to a child psychologically and physically.   In conclusion, I believe that children must learn how to care for plants and animals for it helps them to be more productive and it gives them a feeling of reward.