Some people think that products should be made to last as long as possible, while others think that making the products cheap is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

When buying a product, most people weigh price against quality. While some feel that durability should be the main priority, others argue that affordability is more important. In this essay, I will examine both views and explain why I feel that companies and customers need to make responsible decisions. Those who prioritize quality argue that if products lasted longer, waste could be reduced. The longer products last, the slower our landfills will fill up. Sadly, many people buy a new phone every two to three years regardless of need. This throwaway mentality drives more production, which contributes to environmental damage through raw material extraction, factory emissions, transportation, and packaging. If people only bought one mobile phone per decade, the negative impacts would be significantly reduced. On the other hand, for many, lower prices are more important than durability. Compared to fifty years ago, the range of products on the market is bigger and the prices are much more affordable. However, the best way forward is for both businesses and consumers to think carefully about their choices. For companies, consideration must be given to sustainable and ethical practices. Rather than producing a range of poorly made cheap clothing that will not last more than a season, it would be better to invest a little more in quality materials and workmanship. That said, it is then up to the customer to reward those companies that step up. They too should seek out companies that demonstrate best practices rather than simply opting for the lowest prices. The higher the standard businesses and consumers hold for themselves, the less damage they will cause. In conclusion, the battle between quality and affordability is always going to exist. In order to strike a balance that minimizes environmental impact and allows all people access to products, corporations and individuals need to use their judgment. I believe that prioritizing quality, while also considering affordability, can lead to more sustainable and responsible consumerism.