Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, music has become one of the most popular ways of expressing one ’s feelings and communication between different cultures around the globe. While some individuals feel that musical arts are a great method to unite us, others may argue that the language in which songs are written still poses a threat to intercultural relationships. My opinion is that through music we can cross the cultural gap between societies and assimilate new knowledge and experiences. To begin with, musical rhythms have no language and even if the lyrics are written in words, which one does not know of, the tempo is still there. That is to say, individuals who listen to foreign songs do not need to understand the lines to like a melody. A great example of this situation is the rising popularity of Korean pop songs and idol bands in the last few years in English-speaking countries and across all ages. In other words, even if the Korean language is a difficult one to understand, the music is still appreciated by thousands of people, young and old alike. That is because the barrier between civilisations and age disappeared through the universal love for entertainment. On the other hand, some individuals would argue that language is an immense obstacle to arts and that music does not draw people together. This means that because of language differences, we are not able to understand each other’s music, and the meaning of the song itself is lost through translation. A typical example of this is the fact that many music hits are in a language of international circulation like English or Spanish. That is to say, songs in less popular languages, such as Chinese or Arabic, are not that well-received and admired. While artists like Madonna, Tailor Swift and Michael Jackson are renowerd across the world, singers that do not use English might not be as popular as them. To conclude, I think that one does not need to understand the lyrics to enjoy music and that people of all ages and cultures can understand each other through singing. Although we cannot deny that the language barrier is an important one, we should encourage further international events that could ease the communication between societies.