A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employee work from home, using a computer and Internet to connect with the office. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way.

Nowadays, many companies are following the telecommuting strategy where their employees work from their homes. While some people argue that it is best to work remotely, others disagree. In this essay I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this strategy. To begin with, even though being in the office between the rest of the coworkers can be distracting, the whole team is reachable. Therefore, the work base is significantly faster and the social life between the coworkers is sustained. That is why for example, all the big companies such as Google, Facebook and Twitter designed their offices as an open plan, where all the offices are open without any partitioning. Furthermore, the managers can track the level of each employee individually in terms of communication, productivity and teamwork skills. On the other hand, going to the office is both money and time-consuming. A big percentage of a person’s salary goes to clothes, cosmetics and transportations expenses. In terms of time, according to a recent study, people spend an average of two hours daily going and coming back from their jobs. In addition to that, despite all the distractions that might negatively affect the productivity level at home or working somewhere else other than the office, some people such as mothers and working students still prefer it because of their other responsibilities. To conclude, the advantages and disadvantages of telecommuting are almost equal. Nevertheless, a well-designed schedule that allows the employees to partially work from their homes will be greatly beneficial for both parties.