What could be done to encourage people to buy local products? An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

As the world is inching towards a way of life dominated by technology and digitization, many prefer purchasing commodities online. Online shopping is the most sort after option to buy goods nowadays. While this is a convenient option, the vendors who sell local products are to be kept alive in the production market. This essay would cover the pros and cons of online shopping. Making purchases online is considered one of the biggest technological development made by mankind. Be it groceries, pet supplies, apparels or jewelleries, it could all be brought to our doorstep with the click of a button. One of the advantages of online shopping is that in the comforts of our homes, we could shop for anything. One may think online shopping may not have a variety to choose from, however that too has been handled, as all the major online vendors provide a plethora of items to choose from. For instance, individuals can buy items ranging from fruits to exercise machines. On the contrary, there are disadvantages of online shopping too. To name one, there are many fraudulent websites and applications that could fetch your bank details and use them to transact huge amounts. Recent studies suggest that with the boom in online shopping, there have been reports of internet fraud. Such experiences, cause many to still believe that purchasing local products and increasing the local economy is the better choice. In addition, one way of driving people to the shops nearby would be to give discounts. Furthermore, people expect variety when it comes to shopping and ensuring that local products too have a wide range to choose from, would certainly get people more attracted towards local products. To summarize, I agree that the advantages of shopping online are more than its disadvantages. Although, internet frauds are present and can happen with anyone, the ease of shopping and the fact that people can shop in the comforts of their homes, makes me believe, buying things online is the better choice.