Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that individuals should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely acknowledged that human’s relentless pursuit of the economy takes a heavy toll on the environment; it is imperative to take essential measures to tackle these problems. While a school of thought asserts that governmental bodies are under obligation to cope with environmental issues, I believe that every individual should also be liable for improving the environmental situation. On the one hand, plenty of evidence and arguments could easily be found to prove that government intervention has a far-reaching and profound impact on alleviating environmental contamination. Regarding the former, the state officials could enact laws and legislation including heavy fines such as non - custodial sentences which act as a deterrent for human behaviors. Because when realizing the cost to pay for irresponsible actions is too high, potential criminals may think twice before having an intent to damage the environment. With respect to the latter, encouraging the usage of sustainable energy sources like wind power or sunbeam as an alternative for fossil fuel energy could make green technologies more optimized and popularized. For instance, the state might allocate funding to develop fuel-powered vehicles, especially automobiles which could mitigate a number of massive exhaust emissions released to the environment. On the other hand, there is a myriad of compelling reasons why I would contend that the masses should also join hands in battling the deterioration of environmental quality. One way in which people can help to protect the environment is through their consumption. For instance, by switching from single-use plastic bottles to reusable containers, which pushes for a greener future. By the same token, if a vast majority of dwellers in urban areas turned to public transport networks instead of private vehicles, the polluted atmosphere would be rendered less detrimental. Last but not least, the electorate might use their votes to make an impact by electing officials that care deeply about the deterioration of the planet and committed to changing the status quo. In conclusion, although some traditional thinking dictates that environmental conservation usually rests with high-ranking leaders. I am convinced that this colossal responsibility should be divided by both the state and every ordinary citizen.