Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many think that scientific research and academic publications should be accessible to the public free from any charges, while others opine that there should be some taxes to be paid to access them. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view. This essay will discuss both arguments before coming to a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, it has become easy to share academic papers on online scientific platforms. Many scholars publish the results of their research projects on websites, such as PubMed, so that many postgraduate students can download and benefit from them. As a result, helping them in preparing their thesis and earn their postgraduate degrees. For example, many PhD students rely on websites such as NCBI, which has so many manuscripts free of charge, to gain knowledge about what prior scientists did to reach a conclusion. On the other hand, charging for articles and information can protect the author’s rights. Several publishers face the threat of plagiarism and theft, as many readers may copy the details of an experiment, as well as the results, and claim that they carried out all the procedures. As well as this, fees on accessing data can be a source of income for numerous publishers. For instance, in 2019, an investigation carried out by a well-known university has found that most of the research articles were fake, stolen, and were not published by authentic researchers. Consequently, this has led many scholars to place extra fees on their manuscripts. In conclusion, although sharing evidence and data in business and science without any charges may sound beneficial, in my perspective, there has to be a certain amount of money to be paid to reading them. This is because it may protect scientists and businessmen from possible thefts.