Some people say that school children should be given individual class work, while others think that working in small groups is better for them. Discuss both approaches and include your own opinion.

Undoubtedly, the education sector has observed a considerable uplift in its approach over recent years. This has enabled some people to believe that children should be assigned individual classwork while others entrust that working in micro-groups will be beneficial for them. I, however, strongly opine that a blended methodology will be in fact far more beneficial in lieu of either one of them. In this essay, we will discuss these various approaches along with some references supporting the argument. Firstly, the individual tasks are believed to enhance certain basic characteristics like concentration, memory-building, problem-solving and many more. For instance, a child working on a project single-mindedly will face a lesser amount of distraction in spite of group-based work, where students often get deflected. Therefore, parents are inclined towards the notion of separate assignments. Secondly, the aforementioned step will indeed assist in analysing an individual’s level of intellect thereby it will enable teachers to offer customized learning approach and better counselling and support. Also, I opine that this measure will yield more specific results as every student is different yet special in his or her attitude, hence the comparison needs to be done on an individual basis rather as a whole. On the other hand, group tasks empower children to build their own social network as these projects are intended to foster team-work and coordination. This, in my view, is an advantageous measure to promote co-dependency, which will prove favourable in future. For example, children jointly working in a crew will be more extrovert and socializing than the ones who operate solely. Furthermore, a pupil can identify the team’s strength as well as weakness besides can have multiple measures to resolve a single problem hence attaining a wider perception and becoming more adaptable. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that although both the above-mentioned approaches work in their respective manner, still it is important for the academic curriculum to have a balance of both the measures. As either one of the aforementioned steps will not give adequate outcome rather will have partial-visibility.