Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that any cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars.

A rapid increase in the number of personal vehicles has raised traffic conjunction issue in a lot of cities around the globe. I personally agree with this notion since the number of cars on the roads are consistently growing; however, the government can enforce high taxes on multiple car owners and promote the use of public transport to solve this problem. This essay will further discuss these point in detail. The aforementioned statement highlighting the reason for the traffic jam situation holds a valid point because most developed countries these days, are following "one person one car " trend. Since this trend is getting popular, the existing roads are becoming insufficient to hold the traffic load, resulting in frequent traffic jam situations. For example, in some big cities in China, people have to suffer hours on the highways while moving to their homes on weekends due to the increasing number of cars each year. Therefore, the rise in car ownership count is the only reason for such a problem. To counter this issue, the government should impose high taxes for owning multiple cars by a single person or more than two cars a family. This action would help to cope with the fundamental cause of the problem and people would get reluctant to buy a second car when they already have one. Additionally, the promotion of public transport would likely shift the burden from the roads to subways and buses. For instance, If the cheaper fairs and higher taxes are imposed on personal cars, the people will buy fewer cars and it would definitely reduce the traffic load quite significantly. In conclusion. it is rather true that the rise in the number of personal vehicles is a leading cause of traffic jams. In my perspective, the administrative authorities have to revise the tax rules and subsidies public transport to mitigate this issue.