Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, supermarkets owned by global corporations have started to open branches in small areas, such as mountain villages, while local markets have lost their customers. My opinion is that local businesses and communities immensely suffer because of this economic development and might lose their traditions and lifestyle. To start with, supermarkets have more diversity than traditional shops and offer more affordable prices for the same product. Consequently, customers are visiting shopping centres for their groceries, while local markets are closing their doors. Another reason why traditional businesses are affected by large companies is the lack of advertising. That is, local shops depend on returning customers and cannot attract new ones through television or internet advertisements. For example, supermarkets afford expensive commercials and subsequently, they attract individuals to visit them, while local marketplaces are left in the dark. On the other hand, the opening of supermarkets could benefit local manufacturers by sourcing their produce and sell it on their premises. In other words, these corporations could sign contracts with local farmers in order to provide their customers with fresh, locally-sourced products. In this way, supermarkets could help communities thrive. Moreover, supermarkets’ new branches help create new places of employment for locals, therefore, helping out individuals who are in need of a job. However, many corporations do not have the benefits of the locals in their minds. Instead, they only concentrate on profits. To conclude, my belief is that the disappearance of local marketplaces is mainly because of the uncontrolled development of new shopping centres. Also, we should put more pressure on the government to introduce new policies to help maintain traditional businesses.