Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste

A common opinion is that few of the waste that people produce at home is recycled and that the only way to ensure that recycling at home will be more likely is making the government accountable for this. Turning recycling as a legal requirement for instance. This essay will provide my personal view about the laws for recycling and possible solutions. To begin with, laws should be endorsed in the way that people take recycling as something mandatory and not something optional. In many countries, people are still not recycling, as they have nothing to lose and as it is not a legal requirement. In order to change this trend, the government should create new laws in which people who do not recycle would be punished, either with fines or going to prison. This, would create a sense of responsibility and would change people's mindset. Furthermore, they might take recycling as something serious rather than a personal choice. If the government supports recycling laws, then, it will become a legal matter. Therefore, people will be more likely to embrace recycling schemes at home. In addition, the government should take account of more recycling plans and strategies and make sure they encourage people to it. If the government provides enough resources such as bins and containers, or workshops were people learn how to recycle, it might guarantee that at least the community is aware of the benefits and outcomes of recycling. Rather than recycling as a personal choice, the government should see this practice as important as topics like education and economy and they should bring it to the frontline of their priorities. To me, people do not recycle enough waste because there are very few laws supporting recycling and there is no legal risk for them. To conclude, the society should stop seen recycling as something not important and just a personal choice. The government should introduce and create more environmental laws in order to make people respond and pay if they do not comply. Lastly, the government should enhance and prioritize recycling practices within its plans and encourage people to take it as a habit.