Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Nowadays, global development and technological advances have introduced new problems concerning the need of space for homes and business premises. Many people have the belief that public parks should be destroyed in order to make room for the overgrowing population; however, my opinion is that parks are an indispensable nature contact each individual needs and it also helps cities to be more carbon-neutral. First of all, parks and green spots are a great way for the city’s inhabitants to enjoy nature and relax in an unpolluted environment. In other words, parks represent a way to escape the urban jungle and appreciate nature’s gifts. Also, for some people, public parks are the only method to actually benefit from clean air, as many individuals do not have the means to afford a holiday outside their hometown. Another reason green places are beneficial to one’s life is that they are the home of diverse fauna and flora. A great example is that carbon dioxide emissions are lower in cities that have more parks, such as Vienna and Moscow which areas consist of 50 per cent green spaces. On the other side, cities are overcrowded so the need for space is an essential one. This is because the urban population grows dramatically each year, as many people are moving to cities instead of the countryside. Consequently, individuals are living in small flats and studios and their quality of life is damaged. Moreover, this surge of inhabitants creates demand for new workplaces, therefore more space could help businesses to build new shopping centres and venues. In this way, the rate of employment will rise and people will be happier. In conclusion, my belief is that even if we need more areas for expansion, we should not destroy public parks because they are an excellent method to boost our wellbeing. Also, governments and local councils should introduce policies to protect natural spots against illegal economical development.