In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Undoubtedly, the education sector has observed a significant variation and upgrade in its curriculum as per changing times as compared to any other field. Hence, in some of the European nations, children belonging to the age group of 11 and above, prefer to visit schools to grasp more practical skillset that will enable them in securing their future. While other children prefer staying in the institutions which offer generic academic knowledge. In this essay, we will discuss the various methods which schools should adapt in order to prepare their students for the world of work, along with some references. Firstly, gaining expertise on the currently-prevailing methodologies will not only encourage kids to stay up-to-date with the latest trends but will also allow them to delve into its future aspects. To achieve this, institutions are required to upgrade their syllabus and expedite such versatile courses. For instance, initiating micro-projects will assist the kinaesthetic learners in comprehending more by performing a task independently as compared to the book-based confined information learning method. Secondly, the aforesaid will result in gaining command over realistic approaches to a problem thereby helping the students in attaining a wider perception. On the contrary, parents may raise concerns over this progressive approach as it may be troublesome, at least in the initial pilot phase, where kids often misuse their liberty. In order to suppress such hindrances, institutions must offer counselling service for both parents along with their off-springs and share the notion of this gradual change in detail. Albeit another method is to affix the duration as well as outline the level of courses for attaining various skillsets such as Basic Excel, Presentation, Graphic Designing and many more. By doing so, it will not hamper the other quintessential subjects at all. In conclusion, I would like to highlight that a multi-fold approach can be followed in order to implement these life-skills in the children. After all, it’s the prime responsibility of an educational institute to prepare our future generation ready for upcoming challenges.